Book No. 4 – A Stolen Life

1 Sep

The fourth book I read on my journey to read 100 books in 1 year, is “A Stolen Life” by Jaycee Lee Dugard. Now, if you watch the news and keep up with current events you should know what this book is about. For those of you who don’t know, this is a memoir about the a girl who was abducted at the age of 11 and for 18 years she lived with her captors. She was abused, raped, manipulated, forced to live in a tent, and eventually she gave birth to two little girls. I literally bought this book the day it came out and I knew I would love it because memoirs are my absolute favorite genre to read! Learning about other peoples life experiences just fascinates me. However, I felt that she held back a lot of details in her memoir and she tried to keep a sense of privacy about a lot of things that happened to her. Thats not really how a memoir should be written. A memoir is supposed to be like a persons diary, the good, the bad, the really bad, and the ugly! You don’t hold back anything and I felt that she held back a significant amount of detail. Considering all that she has been through though, I can understand why. This book truly made me appreciate my life and my family more. Sometimes, our problems feel so much bigger than everybody else’s because they are ours, but what we all need to remember is that there is someone out there who has it worse. For instance, after getting mad at my psychotic dog for chewing a massive hole in my favorite white shorts, I realized how stupid it was for me to consider this my biggest problem. I mean, this girl had to live in a tent for Christ sake and I’m over here complaining about a hole in my shorts. (sigh, they were really cute shorts).  You see how just reading a book can make you reexamine your life and thought process? It’s pretty amazeballs, if you ask me. The biggest lesson I took from this book however, is that hope is never lost and there is always SOMETHING to believe in. For instance, no matter what happens in my life, I will ALWAYS hold on to the hope that someday Jake Gyllenhaal will ask me to marry him.

One of Jaycee’s favorite quotes: “Hope, love and faith are all in the waiting.” -Dean Koontz

Xo.

Taylor Jordan

Song I picture Jaycee singing. “A Soft Place to Fall,” by Loni Rose.

Leave a Reply

