Books No. 1,2,3 – The Hunger Games(series), Catching Fire, Mocking Jay.

1 Sep

Thanks to my social media addiction and girl crush on none other than Miley Cyrus, I found out that her boyfriend, hottie Liam Hemsworth, would have a major role in The Hunger Games movie. Now, with this tidbit of information I was sold on the fact that I absolutely MUST read this book immediately. The very next day I went to Barnes and Nobles and purchased it. And let me just say, THANK GOD for Miley Cyrus and her amazing taste in men because this book was a page turner if I ever read one! By the first 50 pages I could already tell I had another Twilight on my hands with the whole Gale vs. Peeta thing going on. I can only assume that at the premier for this movie there will be a bunch of whiny obnoxious girls drooling over their popcorn and wearing team Peeta or team Gale t-shirts…. and yes, I will be one of them. I’m not ashamed to admit it, but I sure do feel sorry for whoever I am dating at the time. Okay, enough about that! On a more serious note, the truly great thing about this book is that it is written in a way that reels the reader in so much so, that you feel as though you are a part of The Hunger Games yourself. SCARY! In all 374 pages of this book I was able to escape into a fictional world called District Twelve and that is truly magical.

The second book of the series- Catching Fire was equalling enticing and addicting. I couldn’t put it down! Catching Fire is a continuation of the journey of Katniss Everdeen, who, SPOILER, survived The Hunger Games along with Peeta Mellark and has now been forced by the evil capitol to participate in the quarter quell to once again, fight to the death. But don’t you worry, Katniss has better survival skills than the cockroach that has been living under my sink for the last year. The second book just makes me fall more and more in love with Gale. The bad boy, tall, dark and handsome… I mean who wouldn’t want a piece of that? But by the end of the third book, Mocking Jay, I have converted to full on Team Peeta. Now here is where all the superficial girls ask me why I converted from the charming and sexy gale to the sensitive and loyal Peeta. Well you depthless numbskulls, that is because Peeta loves Katniss the way every guy should love a girl.

The third book of the series, Mocking Jay, was a bit tiresome to read because at this point I just wanted to know the ending. I had to force myself not to skip ahead, instead, I settled for cursing at the pages for being so long. (Like that did any good.) By the end of the book there were many casualties, some of which angered and saddened me so much that I couldn’t resist the urge to write the word CAPITOL on a piece of paper and throw darts at it. You think I’m kidding? Ask my ex boyfriend what I did to him when he forgot to feed my hermit crab. In all seriousness, I know that every good and semi realistic book has to have some sort of heartache and The Hunger Game series was no exception to this. With that said the verdict is in. GUILTY. This series is guilty of turning me into an anti social freak, locking myself in my room just so that I could find out if, as Snookie would say it, Peeta finally takes Katniss to the smoosh room (you guys know what I mean). And as I finally closed the last page of the final book, I gave an air five to Peeta for sealing the deal, but then it sank in…. no….more…to….read…. and I honestly felt as though I was saying goodbye to a dear friend. And that folks, is what I call a very successful read. So all you idiots who still haven’t read The Hunger Games series, get  your lazy asses up and go to a bookstore. You won’t be sorry.

Leave a Reply

