Book No. 8 – Something Like Fate

8 Sep

Holy shizz balls guys!! I actually read 8 books in 1 month!!! This calls for a major celebration. Like. Margaritas. Frozen. Or on the rocks. Lots of salt. YUM. Okay, so book number 8, Something Like Fate by Susane Colasanti, is a book I came across while grocery shopping. Thank you Henry E. Butt (HEB) for creating a mini Barnes & Nobles in your store. Major life savor. I saw the cover of this book and was like hmmm… then I read the back and literally laughed out loud in the grocery store. Yes, people were staring. Do I care? No. The book is about two best friends and a boy. How cliche, right? But WAIT. Erin and Lani are best friends. Erin starts dating Jason. But Jason secretly likes Lani. Erin goes to camp over the summer. Jason and Lani get together. Lani steals Erin’s boyfriend… friendship over. (well, sorta). UM, Isn’t this the story of my high school love life??? I’m Lani, by the way. I mean and just look at the picture on the cover of the book. WTF. Could it be any more perfect? HA. CRACKING UP.

I feel like I can laugh about the whole experience now because I’m over it and I believe the other two people in my love triangle are over it too. It was a super easy read, definitely a teeny bopper book, which I don’t usually read. I finished it in two hours.

Okay, so basically for those of you who don’t know me. In high school my best friend was dating a guy, he cheated on her with me, me and him started dating and now he is dating her again. It was all really complicated and hurtful, but that is in the past and I think all 3 of us have moved past the drama and are happier now.

Here are some quotes from the book that I felt I could relate my experience to. Because for a while, I was basically “the other girl.”

“I never meant for it to happen like this. But if I had the chance, there’s no way I would take it all back.”

“What kind of person would do something like that to their best friend?”

“Once you put it all out there, you’re free.”

“Do we have control over our fate? Or will our lives turn out the same no matter what we do?”

“She gets like this sometimes – only seeing what she wants. It’s a sort of tunnel vision that makes her oblivious.”

“When you’re in the middle of a situation, sometimes it’s hard to see how things really are.”

“I’m trying to ignore these things I see. There the kind of truth you can never tell your best friend.”

“Your heart always knows, even if the truth is too hard to admit.”

“Love isn’t logical, or even our choice. Love chooses us.”

It’s the things you have in common that connect you.”

“We’re irrevocably tied together by history, a history that can never be erased. Even if you want to deny it, even if you want to pretend it never existed, it will always be a part of you. It will always, in some way, define who you are.”

“I’m not sure if our friendship is strong enough to survive into the next year when we’re away at college. But. We know each other in a way that no one else can. We share a history that makes us permanently connected. So I have hope for us. All I can do is hope.”

And for all you Judge Judy’s out there going, “OMG I can’t believe she stole her best friends boyfriend! What a slut.” Let me just say, first of all STOP judging me because you have probably done worse. Second, nothing is ever black and white and life is complicated. DUH. And third, all THREE people involved are to blame. Each of us played a part in it. OK. Oh, and fourth, I didn’t “steal” him… it was more like he came sprinting to me with his arms wide open.

That said. The book wasn’t the best piece of literature I have read. I wouldn’t recommend it unless you are in to teeny bopper drama and predictable story lines, or if like me, you can relate to it.

Xo.

Taylor Jordan

Leave a Reply

