Book No. 9 – Safe Haven

12 Sep

So, book number 9 on my quest to read 100 books in 1 year is Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks. Nicholas Spark’s books are ALWAYS a good use of my money because they never disappoint! And it goes without saying that this book is about love because… duh, he is the worlds best selling author of love stories! It is also about moving on from the past and letting go in order to be happy with whats in front of you. (something we all need to learn how to do). A woman who is in an abusive marriage finally finds the strength and courage to leave for good. She finally settles down in a small North Carolina (duh.. where else) town. She meets a man whose wife passed away and left him to care for his two children. They fall in love. She learns to trust again and starts believing that her life could turn out the way she had always dreamed.

I’ve never been physically abused so I can not say what it feels like to be in such a horrible situation. However, I do know that sometimes the person being abused feels like they deserve it or feels like it is somehow their fault and that this is the best they will ever get. What I have to say to those people is this: Who told you that you didn’t deserve to be loved? And why on earth did you believe them? The right kind of love can be found, it is yours for the taking. You are strong enough, you are brave enough, you are smart enough. You are enough. Ask for help. Love yourself enough to get out.

There are so many people in this world who constantly live in the past. They just can’t seem to LET GO. Whether it be letting go of a  relationship, a friendship, or a death of a loved one, so many people seem obsessed with holding on. Holding on to the love. The joy. The laughter. The pain. The heartache. Especially when it comes to past relationships. In a way, I will probably always hold on to my past relationships, but in a healthy sense. As in, I will remember them and take with me all the lessons I learned from them. It’s funny how you think the person you are dating, right now in this moment, is “the one!” And there couldn’t possibly be anyone else out there for you, but thats just not true. I’ve just recently met someone who makes me laugh and is so genuinely KIND. I’m always smiling around him and I feel elated just to be near him. Before meeting him though, I didn’t think there was any way someone could be more right for me than the guy before him. But once I let go of that past relationship, I found someone new. Someone who makes me happy in different ways. The end of one relationship is the beginning of another. Just that fact alone is what makes break ups worth it. There is always some one else out there. In this book, in order to find her safe haven, Erin (Katie) had to let go of the past, let go of the pain, and once she found the courage to do that, she was free.

Here is a quote that I feel we should all try and apply to our lives (from the book):

“Everyone has a past, but that’s just it – it’s in the past. You can learn from it, but you can’t change it.”

Some people are haunted by their past and they just can’t seem to accept the fact that it happened and now it’s over. Yes, more often than not this is way easier said than done. But it is something to strive for and in time, I believe it can be achieved.

What I took from this book is that no matter what your past relationship was like you must always be open to love. It may have been the worst relationship in the world and it left you broken, or it may have been one of the best relationships you could imagine. Regardless, we must always keep our hearts open to the possibility of love because love, is the only safe haven.

  You will be okay.

  Let it go.

  Which path will you choose?

  Always believe in the possibility of love.

Xo.

Taylor Jordan

Leave a Reply

