Book No. 10 – Men, Women & Children

19 Sep

I made it to double digits!! WOOOOOOH. Excitement. Okay so the tenth book I read is called, “Men Women & Children” by Chad Kultgen. This book was hilarious, a little twisted and best of all brutally honest. It was about the sexual exploration of men, women and children and what happens when people don’t communicate with each other. It explored relationships between men, women and children and covered topics that a lot of people can relate to.  A married couple who no longer find each other attractive causing both to find sexual partners elsewhere. A teenager who falls into depression after his mother leaves his father for another man. A young cheerleader who after being called fat by her crush develops an eating disorder, a teenage couple contemplating losing their virginity to each other, a young girl whose mother is overbearing and over protective, a young girl who wants to be rich and famous, a boy who thinks football is the most important thing in the world, a boy who commits suicide, an adult who jumps back into the dating scene after his divorce, a man paying a prostitute to sleep with him. Basically this book talks about all of the things that so many of us stay silent about. The kids in this book were in middle school and about to go to high school. Many of them wanted to lose their virginity before going to high school. When I was in middle school I was not even thinking about sex. I think this book would be a little more relatable if the kids were in high school because I feel losing your virginity is more of a high school thing than middle school. Or maybe I was just a late bloomer, who knows! In any case, it is true that teenagers are starting to become sexually active younger and younger which is scary. Imagine what our kids will be doing behind our backs… yikes! I can’t quite wrap my head around peoples obsession with losing their innocence so young. Maybe it’s peer pressure, media influence, hormones, or the classic response.. “I was just ready.” Sure you were, you 14 year old pubescent child! But I’m not here to judge, everyone has the right to live their life by their own standards and beliefs. I have friends who lost their virginity at 15, some at 17, and 1 of my best friends is saving herself for marriage. In this book, the girl with the eating disorder loses her virginity to the guy who had called her fat just so that she could prove to herself that she was skinny enough now to get him. (how sad) and she got pregnant and had a miscarriage. So yes, always remember the consequences that come with engaging in sexual relationships!! Another part of this book that fascinated me was the husband and wife dynamic that was portrayed. I can’t relate to it because I’ve never been married but it makes me wonder what REALLY goes on between married couples behind closed doors. Are married couples really happy after 40 years of marriage? Are they still in love? Do they still have sex? I guess every marriage is different so couples will have varied answers but it makes you wonder. Time changes a lot of things so once happily married couples may not be so happy after living together for so long. So many marriages end in divorce now a days and I wonder what changed in our culture to make matrimony a lesser value than it used to be. Luckily, I did not grow up in a broken home. My parents have been married for 25 years and have instilled in me the belief that marriage is a commitment for life! If I ever get married, I only want to get married ONE time. My grandparents have been married for 50 YEARS and are still madly in love! My grandpa met my grandma when he got out of the war, they only dated for two months before he got down on one knee and proposed. So cute! Most of my generation doesn’t view marriage as a sacred thing and treat the subject with levity. This book also emphasizes the importance of COMMUNICATION in any relationship you have. Lack of communication will cause a multitude of issues in any relationship you have in life. The best thing you can do to maintain a successful relationship is to be HONEST. (a foreign concept to many of you, i know) but you should try it sometime. It works. Overall, this book was hilarious, witty and kept me reading. I’ve always been fascinated with learning about people and why they are the way they are. So if you like reading books about people and different types of relationships then I would absolutely recommend this book to you as well as this author!

Posting this blog really late. (sorry!) Finished this book over a week ago, but I have been so busy! Should be another blog up tomorrow though. So check back tomorrow night!

Xo.

Taylor Jordan

One Response to “Book No. 10 – Men, Women & Children”

  1. Leroy Stile October 16, 2011 at 4:34 am #

    Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed! Extremely helpful info specially the last part 🙂 I care for such info much. I was seeking this particular information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

Leave a Reply

