Book No. 18 – The Lie

4 Nov

My dear old friend insomnia has decided to pay me a visit tonight, so here I am at 4:20 in the morning writing this blog. Dedication? I think yes! I figure at this point there is no point in trying to fall asleep, may as well get something done before my 8 am class! So the 18th book I read is called “The Lie” by Chad Kultgen. This is the 3rd book I have read by this author and as I have already expressed in my previous blogs, I LOVE HIM! His frankness is endearing to me and his writing is comical, entertaining and yet tragic and somber at the same time. It has a darkness to it that keeps you reading and a lightness that makes you burst out into laughter! I actually finished this book 3 weeks ago (lazy me!) and am only just now sitting down to write this blog….. so I am straining my overexerted brain to try and remember the main points of the book.

Side note ….  Bad bad love

Other side note: It is 4:30 am and I have never seen my dogs so hyper. WHAT THE H-E double hockey sticks!!

He keeps jumping on top of me as I try and write this….. but he is just so dang cute!

Okay back to the book! So this book is based on three main characters named Kyle, Brett and Heather. Kyle is the smart, nerdy guy who falls in love with Heather the popular sorority girl. Brett is a local celebrity because of his father and is best friends with Kyle. This book chronicles their college careers and is filled with deceit, scheming, manipulation, LOVE, heartbreak, and one or two big fat LIES!

“Try to remember the moment when all the stupid innocent things you thought about life and love, all the things you thought mattered, all the the things you thought were true…. try to remember when they all turned out to be lies.”

If you can relate to that quote then you can relate to this book. And I feel like all of us can relate to that quote in some way because we have all encountered that one person who is a pathological liar. If you haven’t met that person yet, I pray you never do because there is nothing worse than a person who lies like it’s their damn job. I dated a guy who lied out of his ass about everything and anything, and it is one of the most unattractive qualities! (He did make an effort to change though)… but seriously it’s not that difficult to just be honest people. I know, it is a foreign concept for many of you, but you should try it sometime…. it’s quite therapeutic. And yes, sometimes the truth is one big fat biatch but, wouldn’t you rather know what is real rather than living a life of fallacy? I would. But maybe I am just a rare breed.

So basically, the gist of the story is, Kyle wants to be Heathers boyfriend and initially she resists because he isn’t the typical jock type she goes for. Eventually they start dating and they fall in love but they are from different worlds which will cause some complications for them. Heather is into partying and is heavily involved with her sorority and not to mention she is very superficial whereas, Kyle is smart, anti social, determined and real. I guess opposites really do attract! Heather ends up cheating on Kyle (Shocker!) and get this, SHE dumps HIM!! Obviously, he is devastated. They both move on and start dating other people but they realize they miss what they had with each other and like so many of us do in real life, they took each other for granted. I can relate to this…. I am the worst at not appreciating what I have WHEN I have it. I need to get better at that because all these “What If’s” kill me!

OMG. It’s 5:05.

I think I’ve caught my second wind.

Heather and Kyle’s relationship is filled with manipulation, lies, drama, distrust and mistakes.. and yet like a disease they keep going back to each other. And once again, I can relate. Sometimes, I feel like drama filled, abusive relationships are addictive. Just ask my friends why I kept running back to my ex boyfriend after all of the awful things we both did to each other. There is the obvious reason, of course : we cared about each other. But mostly, I think it’s because there just wasn’t anybody else. Sad, I know. I have this one friend who is madly in love with this guy who treats her like she is a piece of trash, literally! And she is still there, waiting. I think we have all been that girl (or guy) before… the one who is unappreciated and basically trampled all over. I guess love really is blind. I don’t want to spoil the end of the book in case any of you want to read it, but basically it ends with Heather and Kyle doing things to intentionally hurt each other and to get revenge on each other. Kindergarten 101 people… two wrongs DON’T make a right!! And doing something mean to someone that has hurt you does not accomplish anything, it only makes you pathetic. I have been a victim of malice, as I’m sure many of you have as well. And lets be honest, I don’t care how thick your skin is, it is hurtful. I remember my best friend, Hannah was planning a surprise birthday party for my 17th and a couple girls who didn’t like me INTENTIONALLY ruined the surprise. I guess they had nothing better to do with their lives than to plot against me. I of course, pretended like I had no idea there was a party because I knew how hard my friend was working to throw it together for me. I wasn’t mad that they ruined the surprise for me, but I was pissed that they ruined it for my best friend. People like that are just pathetic. I’m not saying the people who did this to me are pathetic because they had a temporary lapse in judgement, it happens to the best of us. But ANYBODY who is intentionally malicious is pathetic! It’s an extremely repugnant and spiteful thing to do. Let me just pause to apologize to anybody that feels I have been malicious to them in any way… I’m sure it was not my intent. The point I am trying to make is this : relationships likes this, whether it’s with a boyfriend or just a friend, are not healthy. They are dangerous and hurtful… even poisonous and you have to get out while you can. In high school I remember feeling like I was drowning in this pool of lies and deceit and wanting so badly to get out. It took me a while, but eventually I cut ties with all those people who were holding me back…. and let me tell you…. now that I swimming (rather than drowning) I am NEVER going back to how it was. This book, “The Lie” is basically a road map through a toxic relationship except, unlike me, they don’t get out in time and it ends very badly. (You will have to read the book to know the ending!)

The main lesson I took from this book is that we all deserve to be treated with respect and we all deserve to be happy. If someone doesn’t treat you the way you deserve to be treated then they aren’t worth your time, life is way too short! (yes, easier said than done… I know). “We accept the love we think we deserve.” And we all deserve the RIGHT kind of love. Don’t allow yourself to stay in a septic relationship. It will leave you more damaged than you can imagine.

I have a choice. You have a choice. So make your decision and be prepared to live with it.

5:43

I am so tired. Must.Stay.Awake.

Another blog perhaps?

Stay tuned!

Xo.

Taylor Jordan

2 Responses to “Book No. 18 – The Lie”

  1. photoshop courses November 21, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    One of my all time favorite quotes seems very fitting here “Success is nothing more than a few simple disciplines, practiced every day; while failure is simply a few errors in judgment, repeated every day. It is the accumulative weight of our disciplines and our judgments that leads us to either fortune or failure.”–Jim Rohn

Leave a Reply

