Book No. 37 – All My Friends Are Still Dead

23 Mar

Book number 37 is called “All My Friends Are Still Dead,” by Avery Monsen and Jory John.  This book is a compilation of the humorous existential ruminations of people, animals, legendary monsters, and inanimate objects. It’s a comical spin on the isolation we have all felt at one time or another, the impending loneliness that is always waiting just around the corner, and the scarcity of friends who are actually good friends. People who read this book will really appreciate the plight of the lottery ticket whose only friends are losers, the caterpillar whose friends have all really changed, the pig whose friends are bacon, the robot who was not programmed to understand the concept of friendship, and many more. I think the biggest reason I loved this book is because the whole thing is basically a metaphor for life. And anybody who knows me, knows how much I LOVE a good metaphor. Sometimes, I even choose my behaviors based on their metaphorical resonances. I know, I’m a nerd like that, but I’m a big believer in a metaphor. This whole book is a metaphor for the struggles in life that we all go through in order to feel like we are a part of something, in order to not feel alone. Everybody wants to have friends. Everybody wants to feel loved. Everybody wants to feel understood. Everybody wants to find their soul mate. These are commonalities that bring the human race together. We’re all just trying to find the same things, and we all go through the same drama, struggle and heartbreak to get them. This book really portrays that sentiment perfectly through its dark comical story line.

In this book there is a lottery ticket whose only friends are losers. So many of us have those couple of friends who really have no goals or aspirations in life and who tend to bring us down. It’s hard to cut friends loose, but eventually one must analyze who is a good person to have in your life and who isn’t.

The caterpillar in this book struggles with the fact that all of it’s friends have changed. (so witty!) Something that I know i can personally relate to. As people get older they change, and if you don’t change in the same direction as your friends, you will no longer be friends. That’s just life. For instance, people who go to college tend to be friends with other people who attended college. Low life’s are friends with low life’s. Etc. I remember after I went to college – during my first year one of my best friends and I had a huge fall out with each other. She was still in her senior year of high school and I was a freshman at OU. She wrote me a letter telling me how much I have changed in a negative way and how she didn’t even know who I was anymore. I responded with, “I haven’t changed since going to college, I’ve only found myself. I know what I value now, I know what I believe in now, and I know more now than ever, who I want to be.” She just didn’t understand because she had yet to experience college.

I think my favorite character in this book is the robot who doesn’t understand the concept of friendship. I’ve realized as i’ve gotten older that most people truly don’t understand what it means to be a good, true and real friend. One thing I can say about most of my friends is that they are the most unbelievably unsupportive friends ever. And it really breaks my heart how I can be friends with people who don’t support me in everything that I do. You don’t have to agree with me, or like what I do, but you do have to support me. An example is when I turned vegetarian. Majority of my friends were like, “wow that is so stupid!” “just eat meat already.” “you won’t last very long.” But I have proved them all wrong, because I am STILL a vegetarian and right now, more than ever, I believe vegetarianism is such an amazing and good lifestyle. People don’t understand the meaning of friendship. People don’t know how to be empathetic, understanding, forgiving, selfless and supportive… but these are all qualities that good friendships must possess.

This book kind of brings to light the question of, “are we really all alone in this world?” No matter how many friends or people we have surrounding us, if they aren’t truly the definition of a friend – then we are still isolated and alone. I think this is something that I was very naive about during my high school years and it was only after I went to college that I realized how awful some of the people I call friends actually are. People wonder why I spend so much time at home now when I used to always be out partying. People wonder why I am always with my dogs or at Barnes and Nobles or immersed in a book. Well, it’s simple. I’d rather be alone than be with fake people who aren’t there for me and don’t really care about my well being.

Some people just aren’t meant to be in your life. It is very important to realize this sooner rather than later, because the people you surround yourself with, ultimately shape you in good ways or bad.

Xo.

Taylor Jordan

2 Responses to “Book No. 37 – All My Friends Are Still Dead”

  1. Jory John March 29, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

    Hey Taylor,
    Thanks so much for such a thorough and insightful analysis of our book. I definitely enjoyed your essay … and I found myself nodding along in agreement. Great work!
    All the best,
    Jory
    P.S. Very cool website, too.

    • Taylor Jordan March 29, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

      Wow! Thanks so much for reading. I loved your book and absolutely delighted that my blog has reached your eyes. xoxo

Leave a Reply

