Book No. 38 – What The Night Knows

24 Mar

If y’all are just now starting to keep up with my blogs or just now following them, you should know that I started writing this blog because I set a goal for myself. This goal is to read 100 books in one year. So if you are reading these blogs, welcome to the journey!! Hope you stick with me until the end.

Book number 38 is called, “What The Night Knows,” by Dean Koontz. Now, anybody who has ever read a Dean Koontz novel knows what to expect. It’s like that nervous, excited, anxious feeling you get right before you get onto a roller coaster. It’s like you know you are about to get a major adrenaline rush, but there is still this tiny little nagging feeling inside that tells you, you could plummet to your death. This is the feeling one gets upon reading a Dean Koontz novel. Truly. He is the king of suspense. The master thriller.

Here is a brief summary of the book:

“In the late summer of a long-ago year, Alton Turner Blackwood brutally murdered four families. His savage spree ended only when he himself was killed by the last survivor of the last family, a fourteen-year-old boy. Half a continent away and two decades later, someone is murdering families again, re-creating in detail Blackwood’s crimes. Homicide detective John Calvino is certain that his own family—his wife and three children—will be targets, just as his parents and sisters were victims on that distant night when he was fourteen and killed their slayer. As a detective, John is a man of reason who deals in cold facts. But an extraordinary experience convinces him that sometimes death is not a one-way journey, that sometimes the dead return.”

Chilling. Suspenseful. Witty. Dark. Nail biting. Cruel. Haunting. Thrilling.

This book is a masterpiece. I am not one who likes this type of genre in literature, but this book had me hooked from page 1. I could not put it down and I found myself rooting for John Calvino and anxiously awaiting the ending of the story. I am one who verbally denounces scary movies and runs from all things SCARY – but this book was just too good to run from!

It also gave me the heebeejeebeez when I was laying in my bed at night turning page after page. Not going to lie, it was much harder to fall asleep after reading this book, and yes, I will admit I did check under the bed for any serial killer or monster that may be hiding out there. (seriously.)

This book really gets you thinking about life and death and good vs. evil. It makes you realize that there really is evil in this world and it can come in all shapes and forms. In this book the form of evil is a spirit who possesses people’s bodies and forces them to commit horrendous acts of murder. I’ve heard of people having to do exorcisms and creepy things happening to people while they sleep. I’ve heard of ghosts who never leave the house they died in, but i’ve never actually experienced anything of the sort first hand.  Some people might not think any of these things are really possible, but who are they to say that it is impossible. I don’t believe in absolutes. I believe anything can happen, at any time, under the right circumstances. You never really know what will happen- this is life lesson #1. The world is a dangerous place to live in not only because there is evil in it, but also because some evil can not be prevented.

Oscar Wilde once said, “We are each our own devil, and we make this world our hell.” This may be true. I believe that anybody is capable of evil, but I don’t believe everybody has goodness inside of them. Some people are broken beyond repair and they can not come back from that. Some people are just bad.

“Remember that all through history the way of truth and love has always won. There have been tyrants and murderers and for a time they seem invincible but in the end, they always fall — think of it, ALWAYS.” This was said by Ghandi. A quote I think we must all remember. No matter how much evil is in this world, there is double that amount of goodness.

Xo.

Taylor Jordan

3 Responses to “Book No. 38 – What The Night Knows”

  1. llmay March 25, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

    I agree with you that anything can happen and that no matter how bad it gets there is always some sort of goodness out there. I’ll definitely be taking a look at this book soon 🙂

  2. roller coaster games April 2, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    I’ve learn some good stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how so much effort you put to create the sort of magnificent informative website.

  3. Goldankauf Rosenheim April 3, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    Ihre Netzauftritt ist reell nur zu sekundieren, ich werde mit absoluter Unzweifelhaftigkeit wiederum mal hinein beaugapfeln.

Leave a Reply

