Book No. 45 – The Leaves of Grass, Song of Myself

13 Jun

The Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman is one of my favorite works of poetry ever. It is basically one LONG poem. (REALLY, really, long.) Walt whitman is pure genius and the depth portrayed in his work his unreal. The best summarization of this poem would be to tell you that this poem sums up everything you need to know about LIFE. Whitman talks about the evolutions, both technological and scientific, as well as the progress and evolution of America as a whole. He talks about being a man, his sexual desires and the desires that all of us hold. He talks about patriotism, and romance. He holds a mirror up to his self and to nature; he also talks about the meaning and significance of the universe and man’s relation to it and the role humankind play in this world. It is truly a revelation.

I am going to share with you some of my favorite quotes:

“I have heard what the talkers were talking… the talk of the beginning and the end, But I do not talk of the beginning or the end. There was never any more inception than there is now, Nor any more youth or age than there is now: And will never be any more perfection than there is now, Nor any more heaven or hell than there is now. Urge and urge, always the procreant urge of the world.”

“Welcome is every organ and attribute of me, and of any man hearty and clean, Not an inch nor a particle of an inch is vile, and none shall be less familiar than the rest. I am satisfied…. I see, dance, laugh, sing.”

“What do you think has become of the young and old men? And what do you think has become of the women and children? They are well and alive somewhere: the smallest sprout shows there is really no death, And if ever there was it led forward life, and does not wait at the end to arrest it, And ceased the moment life appeared. All goes onward and outward…. and nothing collapses, And to die is different from what any one supposed, and luckier. Has anyone supposed it lucky to be born? I hasten to inform him or her it is just as lucky to die, and I know it.”

“Have you heard that it is good to gain the day? I also say it is good to fall… battles are lost in the same spirit in which they are won.”

“I exist as I am, that is enough, If no other in the world be aware I sit content, And if each and all be aware, I sit content. I laugh at what you call dissolution, and I know the amplitude of time. I am the poet of the body and I am the poet of the soul. The pleasures of heaven are with me, and the pains of hell are with me….”

Just a few profound quotes that I personally like.

Every time I forget the meaning of life, I re-read the Leaves of Grass and am instantly reminded of how lucky I am and what this universe is, and the marvelous happenings that constantly occur in it. It’s a great read, but thats obvious by the simple fact that Walt Whitman wrote it. So, if you ever feel lost, I encourage you to read The Leaves of Grass and maybe you will be reminded of the interconnectedness of the world and that even if you feel like it, you are never alone.

xo.

TJ

Leave a Reply

