Little White House

19 Jan

The locket with your picture in it
no longer hangs around my neck.
The picture frame I bought you
sits empty on your bed stand,
and in the harshness of the night
given eyes by candlelight-
I carve the word ephemeral into the wall.
You’re shooting arrows at my heart
and that little white house
that we once called home
will always wonder what went wrong.
We will wish it would come again,
but what is left to find
when you’ve lost the garden of eden?
I should have listened
that warm summer night
when you whispered in my ear
“Dear, you’ve got to be careful when you got good love.”
but I was too busy trying to change the world,
I lost the only love that was real.
In that little white house
where we loved so much
I stayed awake till dawn
just to watch our fingerprints fade,
but will they ever truly go away?
The perpetual aching of our hearts.
The boundless confinement of our scars,
all reminders of what once was.
You, My eclipse
And I, your sun
Cloaking the essence of who I was.
You laughed as I lamented
the loss of my soul,
and the smoke from the fire
helped us disappear.
That little white house is a hologram now
and as she disappears into the night
she whispers that we weren’t right.
Little white house
where we lost so much-
we always thought it’d be enough.
Now that little white house is good and gone
And as all our memories break apart
I put back the pieces of my heart
and what we knew all along
has finally come true.
It wasn’t me,
and it wasn’t you.

12 Responses to “Little White House”

  1. janineyork January 21, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    Such an eloquent writer you are!

  2. unfakeoriginality January 22, 2013 at 5:08 pm #

    Your writes are so beautiful. I just started blogging myself. Please view my write ups too..

  3. michelleelynn January 25, 2013 at 1:08 am #

    Ah love it !!

  4. TreacherousLover February 3, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

    Everytime I read your posts, it touches my heart. This reminded me of Josh.
    Thank You so much for bringing back good memories to me.xxxx

  5. chatroulette online advice February 12, 2013 at 11:36 am #

    I was very happy to uncover this site. I wanted to thank you for ones time for this wonderful
    read!! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it and i also have
    you saved as a favorite to check out new things in your site.

  6. Winston February 12, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

    We stumbled over here coming from a different website and thought I should check
    things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.

    Look forward to exploring your web page for a second time.

  7. http://funvideochat.posterous.com February 12, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

    My brother suggested I might like this blog.
    He was entirely right. This publish actually made
    my day. You cann’t imagine just how a lot time I had spent for this info! Thank you!

  8. Bennie February 12, 2013 at 2:50 pm #

    Pretty! This has been a really wonderful post.
    Thank you for providing these details.

  9. treatments for hemorrhoids February 12, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

    Great info. Lucky me I discovered your blog by chance (stumbleupon).

    I have book marked it for later!

  10. member.marketingbodz.com February 12, 2013 at 5:43 pm #

    This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post.
    Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

  11. Tuyet February 12, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

    Hi! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to new
    updates.

Leave a Reply

