Lipstick Is The New Earrings, But Passion Is The New Lipstick.

17 Feb

Yesterday I went to the roller rink with some of my friends and as I was skating around I noticed a young girl, no older than ten, wearing fake eyelashes. The first thought that came into my head was, “What is wrong with the world we live in?” Honestly, what has this society come to if a 10 year old feels the need to wear fake eyelashes to look beautiful. The older I get, the more aware I become of societies gross perception of beauty. In our twisted world, you have to be ten pounds underweight to be considered beautiful. You have to have tan skin, big eyes, red lips and you have to be fashion forward and cosmetic savvy.

The other day I was discussing this issue with my friend and I asked her why she wears so much make-up.
Naturally, she responded by saying, “I need it.”

Her response, although highly anticipated, greatly infuriated me. Women in todays day and age have become a victim of advertising, of the fashion industry and of those laughable gossip magazines. Our brains have been molded to believe in what society believes and we have been morphed into thinking that we NEED these beauty products to be beautiful. Maybe it is the feminist in me that gets so heated by this issue or maybe it’s just the fact that I grew up with parents who never let me wear make up until my late high-school years, but either way, women need to hear this.

WOMEN! You don’t NEED anything except to learn how to be comfortable in your own skin. Anybody who tells you otherwise should be absolutely ashamed of themselves.

About three months ago, I started noticing that I had begun applying much more make up than I usually had before. I was taking thirty extra minutes to get ready just to make sure my eye shadow and mascara was applied perfectly. Around this time I also discovered lipstick! (A really exciting time in a girls life!) I became obsessed with lipstick and went to the store and bought several different shades. (I bought the same red lipstick that Taylor Swift wears so that was pretty legit, just saying.)

Anyways.

“Lipstick is the new earrings!” I exclaimed to my friend one day to indicate that my earring obsession had now been replaced. She was going through a lipstick phase too. Lately, though, I have been reevaluating that statement. When I think about what is most beautiful on a woman, I do not think of lipstick or mascara or earrings. I think of PASSION and LOVE and JOY. THESE things are what make a woman beautiful.

So, yes maybe lipstick is the new earrings, but PASSION is the new lipstick. Passion, joy and love – these things are what make you beautiful. So, please ladies, STOP funding the cosmetic industry and reinforcing their sentiment that women need makeup to be beautiful. They are full of horse shit! (sorry, mom.) I know sometimes it is hard to feel comfortable in your own skin, but once you do, you will feel more beautiful than ever!

I haven’t worn makeup in 42 days (yes, I counted) and I have never felt more like myself. More free. More fresh. More beautiful. So, I urge you ladies to all TRY to stop wearing makeup, stop buying those pushup bras that you HATE but were somehow convince that you needed, stop wearing high heels because they “supposedly” make your legs look better, stop fake tanning because society believes “pumpkin” is a skin tone. JUST STOP ALREADY.

If we don’t stop funding companies that are constantly telling us we aren’t good enough, then imagine how our children will grow up and also think about what that says about each and every one of us. If we don’t stop with this madness, who is going to tell the ten year old girl at the roller rink that she doesn’t need fake eye lashes to be pretty? Who is going to tell that scared twenty year old that she doesn’t need to get a boob job? Beauty isn’t skin deep. In fact, beauty has NOTHING to do with your skin at all. It has everything to do with who YOU ARE inside.

So, maybe next time you are perusing the cosmetics aisle, you will remember this and instead of buying that red lipstick you will say, “No thanks. Passion is the new lipstick.”

 

barbiemakeup

xo.
TJ

9 Responses to “Lipstick Is The New Earrings, But Passion Is The New Lipstick.”

  1. stephenedwards425 February 17, 2013 at 3:24 am #

    Just for the record…I’ve never worn makeup…not saying if the money was right I wouldn’t…but it hasn’t happened yet…thanks for a great post…be encouraged!

    • Taylor Devost February 17, 2013 at 9:30 am #

      Haha! Thanks for reading 🙂

      • stephenedwards425 February 17, 2013 at 4:40 pm #

        You are welcome…but thanks again for such a wonderful post…be encouraged!

  2. taurusingemini February 17, 2013 at 10:27 am #

    The reason why I think that young people are wearing makeup is because they want to become MORE mature (or at least, to LOOK that way), and, they don’t even REALIZE that if they “lost” their youthfulness, they have MORE to cry over, because they just see the UPSIDE to growing up, without realizing that there’s also a DOWNSIDE to it too

  3. TreacherousLover February 18, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

    Taylor, You have just blown me away. I am always ranting about the girls at my school who are three years younger than I am but feel the need to flaunt their ‘stuff’ to attract the boys. I feel so ashamed sometimes when I look at girls like that because I know underneath those fifty shades of foundation, there is a beautiful girl. Great Job!xxx

  4. Aunt Diana February 19, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

    You are so right at least until you get into your 50’s. HaHA!
    D

  5. isabel marant online February 21, 2013 at 12:52 am #

    Wohh precisely what I was searching for, thanks for posting. isabel marant online http://exoyeah.com/forum.php?mod=viewthread&tid=240853

  6. Hannah Lane March 3, 2013 at 3:09 am #

    Hehe you were talking about me in this post because we went through our lipstick phase together!!

    I still like lipstick though.. sometimes I just want to be courageous and wear it since it’s going out of my comfort zone! Or “look like a hooker on a street corner” according to your dad.

Leave a Reply

