You Found Me In The Dark

1 Apr

When I am with you
it’s like
I have never been broken.
You wrap me in your arms
as if
my touch
is the only thing keeping you alive.
Your smile
swallows me,
deeper than
the ocean.
Your kiss
ends worlds,
my world.
My heart is a place that wanders,
but
I can be good, if
you take me
as you found me.
And I don’t know what’s left
of me,
but you can have it
if you want.

120612096239999243_TUWW36XQ_c

7 Responses to “You Found Me In The Dark”

  1. moodsnmoments April 1, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

    this is gorgeous!

  2. yourstrulyheather April 2, 2013 at 12:02 am #

    Taylor,
    This is absolutely beautiful! Your metaphors and descriptions are throat clenching, it is like the love for my boyfriend put into words! WELL DONE!

    • Taylor Devost April 2, 2013 at 5:15 am #

      Aw wow, thank you so much! Your words mean SO much more than you know. Thanks for reading! 🙂 xo

  3. taurusingemini April 2, 2013 at 5:31 am #

    Sounds like the characters are still LOOKING for someone to make them whole again, and the thing is, how can someone be a “part” before they are WHOLES themselves? You MUST be a whole person, before you become a PART of a relationship or whatever………

    • Taylor Devost April 2, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

      You are so right! You can not enter a relationship for the sole purpose of trying to feel whole, trying to feel complete! Something I struggled with a lot in high school and I think many YOUNG people struggle with more so that older people. However, with this poem, I was going for more a statement of “I have a past, I have been broken, but when I am with you, you make me feel like none of that matters and if you accept me as I am then I will give you what is left of me.”

      Thank you so much for continuing to read and comment on my blogs, I love interacting with you and it means so, so much! XO

  4. Peggie Ramseyer April 13, 2013 at 7:18 am #

    This will be a great web site, would you be interested in doing an interview about just how you developed it? If so e-mail me!

Leave a Reply

