Why Silver Linings Playbook Is The Best Movie Of The Year

2 May

Silver Linings Playbook has been hyped up a lot this year and with good reason. This movie is everything.

Not only is the acting flawless, but the characters, the story, and the dialogue are so raw and painstakingly truthful that it makes this movie and it’s characters so unbelievably real.

So much so that, I see myself in them.

Tiffany and Pat are the two main characters and they are brought together by their mental illness and instability. They both find each other in dark places, each struggling to fight their own demons on their search for happiness.

They are irreparably flawed and a little broken. But what human isn’t? After all, isn’t imperfection and making mistakes what being human is really about?

This isn’t a movie about two people who are irreparably broken. Or two people who are too fucked up to live a normal life. This movie is about seeing the darkness within you and not being so afraid of it. It is about accepting how insanely flawed you are and learning to love yourself anyway. It is about redemption and forgiveness and acceptance, but most of all it is about being human.

We are all a little bit crazy. We are all a little bit weird and scary. Life isn’t about trying to hide our lunacy or medicate it away, it’s about embracing it as a part of ourselves – a part that is beautiful.

As tiffany said: “There will always be a part of me that is dirty and sloppy, but I like that, just like all the other parts of myself. I can forgive. Can you say the same for yourself, fucker? Can you forgive? Are you capable of that?”

Well, are you?

As someone who, in the last two years has suffered from anxiety and depression, I have to say it has been a long road to acceptance. I think I am finally here though. I am no longer afraid of my demons. They are a part of who I am. And I like who I am.

So, no matter what life throws your way, no matter what hardship you may encounter, remember that it is okay to be who you truly are. Flaws and all. And all those people around you who somehow manage to accomplish the facade of perfection just a little bit better than you, they are fighting their own battle too. And maybe, just maybe, like Tiffany and Pat, you could fight that battle together.

Watch this movie if you haven’t already. If you have seen it, watch it again because you might just see something you didn’t before. You won’t be disappointed and even if you are, you just might learn something along the way.

After all,

As Pat likes to say, “there is always a silver lining.”

11883688a52b023b4eb60c6e5a84ab67

xo

TJ

4 Responses to “Why Silver Linings Playbook Is The Best Movie Of The Year”

  1. moving home May 6, 2013 at 6:05 am #

    Dude.. I am not much into reading, but somehow I got to read lots of articles on your blog. Its amazing how interesting it is for me to visit you very often. –

  2. Juned May 7, 2013 at 5:05 pm #

    Nicely written and I loved the movie, ending lines in the movie are simply awesome.
    “The world will break your heart ten ways to Sunday. That’s guaranteed. I can’t begin to explain that. Or the craziness inside myself and everyone else. But guess what? Sunday’s my favorite day again.” 🙂

    • Taylor Devost May 7, 2013 at 5:33 pm #

      Yes! That is one of the best quotes in the movie. Such a hauntingly beautiful movie. Thanks for reading. xo

  3. Naraya Bags May 29, 2013 at 1:47 pm #

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

Leave a Reply

