Lets Talk About Homosexuality

10 Jul

Let’s just talk about the elephant in the room. Or in this case, the elephant in the entire country and perhaps – the world. HOMOSEXUALITY. It’s not like ‘He-Who-Shall-Not-Be-Named’ in Harry Potter guys. This word is not the gay man’s VOLDEMORT. You can say it out loud without the impending doom of a painful death.

HOMO-SEX-U-ALITY.

There you go. Not so hard, is it?

Let’s talk about homosexuality.

Just humor me, please. For a minute.

“Being gay is wrong. It’s against my religion.”

This is probably the most common excuse for bigotry. I get that religion is a huge facet of any one person’s life. Religion could be the only thing that gets a person through his or her day. If you happen to be one of these people than props to you. The ability to believe in something so fervently and passionately is truly a beautiful thing. BUT, religion is not your excuse. It is not your scapegoat. You can not use it as an all encompassing guide to life. It does not hold all the answers. Answers can not be found between the inked pages of black and white. Religion can no doubt be what influences you to believe what you believe, but ultimately, YOU are the one who has the power to decide how to live your life and how to treat others.

My dad believes in keeping the thermostat at a toasty 82 degrees during Houston summers (yes, it’s like I am in Hell, literally), and if anyone, and I MEAN ANYONE, (even Obama), were to touch his precious thermostat, it would be like opening Pandora’s box, except 1 million times worse. And I am not even being dramatic guys. (All my friends can vouch for this.) So, am I going to keep MY OWN PERSONAL thermostat (when I grow up and get my own place, sigh..) at a sweltering 82 degrees during the summer? Hell, no. Just because MY DAD doesn’t believe in air conditioning, doesn’t mean I HAVE TO.

Because believing in something just because you were told to, believing in something because you read it somewhere, believing in something because it is what your parents taught you, believing in something because society tells you to, IS LUDICROUS. You are not what a book tells you to be, you are not your parents. YOU are YOU. Which means, you get to take EVERYTHING you have read, EVERYTHING you have been told and EVERYTHING you have experienced and then make YOUR OWN decisions on what to believe and how to live. It’s really not that bizarre of a concept, guys.

Which means, all of you people who sit there, quoting bible passages about homosexuality, which let’s be honest, you probably googled, deserve no respect. Not from me, and not from any other compassionate, understanding, empathetic human being. Let me explain why. The Bible is about a 2,000 page long book (don’t quote me on that), and yet, you seem only adamantly passionate about the passages explaining why homosexuality is WRONG. Why abortion is WRONG. (Although, I will leave that rant for another blog post). Did you just so happen to skip over the passages about lying, adultery, lust, and yes even dying your hair, getting tattoos and piercings oh AND having premarital sex, which let’s be honest almost EVERYBODY is guilty of.

I find it almost comical how adamant some religious folk can be about the amoral “choice” to be homosexual, (I actually have to laugh-out-loud when people say this, being gay is not a choice!) but yet they don’t care to follow their religion ‘to-the-T’ in any other aspect of their life. This is called a hypocrite. Something I have no interest in being associated with.

The Bible is an antiquated work of literature, which yes, does have some very humbling and educational lessons in it that are positive influences on society and those who read it. However, some parts of The Bible are just plain ARCHAIC. For some reason, the archaic parts, are the ones, homophobic people seem to fixate on. When, hello! These parts are clearly the writings of an ignoramus, which in his defense, is easy to understand considering the time period he lived in. We have evolved since then. Duh.

Everybody is entitled to their own opinion. Their own beliefs. I really do respect that. This DOES NOT mean you can project your views and beliefs upon others, denying them their basic HUMAN right to love whomever it is they wish to love. (And by ”project your views and beliefs,” I really mean, “SHOVE THEM DOWN THE THROATS OF ANYBODY AND EVERYBODY WHO WILL LISTEN.”)

My dad likes to keep our house sweltering. I’m like cookie dough, being baked daily, except I never turn into cookies. Do I like it? No. Do I accept it? YES. Do I respect that my dad has THE RIGHT to makes decisions about his own house? DUH.

(I know this whole cookie dough analogy isn’t the best, but bear with me.)

SO, here is the thing.

Don’t like gay people, don’t associate with them, don’t believe they are living their lives the “righteous” way. FINE. WHATEVER. I’m sure gay people are better off without you anyway. But respect that their life is their own. Not yours. Not God’s. THEIRS. You may not like it, but guess what, you don’t have to. And quite frankly, nobody really cares if you do.

YOU live YOUR life. Let THEM live THEIRS.

I am not homosexual. I am not straight. I am not bi-sexual. I am not transgendered.

I am not an empty box ready to be checked.

I can not be molded or fit into the label of me you created in your head.

I am not who you want me to be. I don’t want to be.

I am complex. I contain multitudes.

I am not who you say I am.

I am no concept. No statistic.

No lost child who needs the love of God to save me.

I am just me.

I am HUMAN.

So are YOU.

Lets treat each other as such.

579490_2074648195690_1366871194_n

In a world with so much beauty, diversity and unpredictability, why waste your energy on hating those who are different than you? Ethnocentrism is not in. Never was. Never will be. Diversity is the most beautiful thing we have in this world – to be able to learn from those who are different than us, it is a gift. Your eyes, heads, and hearts can be opened to a plethora of new worlds, new experiences… let us not continue to squander it.

Alas, I can not end this blog post without first posting this song titled, “Same Love” by the brilliant and revolutionary musicians Macklemore & Ryan Lewis. Watch it and weep.

I think it was the great poet (by poet, I mean musician. same thing.) Nada Surf who said:
“To make a mountain of your life is just a choice.
But I never learned enough, to listen to the voice that said: ALWAYS LOVE.”

Always love,
Taylor.

Editor’s Note: It is not the writer’s intent to bash the religious views of any person, but only to shed light on the way religion can be used as a scapegoat to enforce bigotry and oftentimes cause dramatic stagnation for positive change in our democracy. It should be acknowledged that not all people use their religion this way, and in fact, many religious people out there are kind and empathetic human beings that fight for equal rights and accept those who are different unconditionally. To those, I say, Thank you.

4 Responses to “Lets Talk About Homosexuality”

  1. Fahdah Away July 11, 2013 at 12:16 am #

    ***Bites knuckles in utter amazement!!!****
    Lovely piece Taylor, I applaud your craft, perspective and being!

    • Taylor Devost July 11, 2013 at 12:27 am #

      Haha thank you!! That comment just made my day 🙂 Thanks for continuing to read. xoxo

  2. W E Patterson July 11, 2013 at 12:51 am #

    Not all religious people condemn gay people.I know quite a few religious people who believe as I do – “live and let live”. Unfortunately, some religious folks are pretty vocal in their attitudes toward homosexuals. Good piece of writing, Taylor. I enjoyed your viewpoint.

  3. amediablogger July 11, 2013 at 5:31 am #

    Taylor, I really enjoyed this piece thanks for writing it. I agree with your points and it’s just so frustrating that we are going through this. By the way I really like macklemore &Ryan Lewis and sane love it’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

