The Oxygen I Breathe Is You

21 Jul

Life
before you
was an ever winding road,
leaves
changing
in the fall,
the chugging
of a
run-away train
on the
rusty
railroad track.
Life
after you
will be
nothing more
than
having lost
all my love,
the dying flowers
lying on a tombstone,
holding
my breath
under
water.
In you,
I find
myself
again.
In you,
I am home.

Fausto-Podavini-7

10 Responses to “The Oxygen I Breathe Is You”

  1. Elia Bintang July 21, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

    I like that you used the line ‘the dying flowers lying on a tombstone’ to describe ‘life after you’. 🙂

  2. BeritaDiBlog.com July 21, 2013 at 11:24 pm #

    sebuah kata yang menarik

  3. SERIAU@ July 22, 2013 at 12:26 am #

    Reblogged this on SERIAU@.

  4. taurusingemini July 22, 2013 at 2:47 am #

    Sounds like your character is still NOT really certain on what love actually is, but hey, a LOT of people are still figuring it out, quite slowly, so, there’s NO hurry here…

    • Michelle Barns July 22, 2013 at 4:03 am #

      I respectfully disagree. I think you find love where you’re happy. You find it where you’re comfortable. You find it when the one you love makes you better, makes you happier, and makes you feel more complete. You find it when the one you love does everything they can to be there for you and make you happy. They love you for who you are, not what you used to be (“life before you”). They give you a “home”. That’s what love is to me, and it sounds like the character has found that. Just my 2 cents 🙂 love your blog!

      • taurusingemini July 22, 2013 at 7:48 am #

        But, if you can’t be happy with you, how can you be happy with someone else?

  5. Michelle Barns July 22, 2013 at 6:14 pm #

    ^ Sometimes the one we love helps us to love ourselves. If the person you’re with (or in love with) brings out the best in you, then you’re very lucky.

    • Taylor Devost July 23, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

      I agree! I think you interpreted this poem in the way I was trying to make it come across! Thanks for reading and commenting! xxx

      • Michelle Barns July 24, 2013 at 10:01 pm #

        Thanks for posting 🙂 I emailed you earlier today btw! Sent it to the Yahoo email you have pinned on the side! Hope you get it.

Leave a Reply

