To Fear Death Is To Fear Never Having Lived

3 Aug

I do not fear death. It does not make me tremble in anticipation and dread. It does not make my heart ache with sorrow. It does not leave me anxiety ridden. On the contrary, I appreciate death. I question death. I am curious about death. And I think this is healthy.

Maybe I love life more, because I appreciate death.

The paradox of life is that we must die in order to breathe this air today. The end is synonymous with the beginning. Life can only come from death and vise versa.

Humans are so preoccupied with death, because humans fear what they do not know in the same way they fear people who are different than them.

If one does everything they want. If one loves to the zenith and then some. If one conquers all their fears and lives a life they are proud of then what is there to fear?

The fear of death is really just the fear of never having lived.

c1ac723c4bddce9ce39a97591e50c3b6

2 Responses to “To Fear Death Is To Fear Never Having Lived”

  1. taurusingemini August 4, 2013 at 3:57 am #

    I think, that most people fear death is because they don’t know what would come next after they die, is it hell? Or is it heaven? And, when you think about it, you might start to remember the bad things you’d done, and, you’d end up fearing death even more, because you don’t want to go to hell, so, the fear of death is NOT in death itself, I think, it’s fearing the consequences of one’s own life. Very thoughtful this one!!!

    • Taylor Devost August 8, 2013 at 5:47 am #

      This is true. Many people fear the unknown place they will end up after they live, but for me, I feel as though if you have lived a life you are proud of, a life without regret – what does it matter? The afterlife is in a sense, just another adventure to embark on. As always, thanks for sharing your opinion and for reading!

Leave a Reply

