I love People, I don’t Understand Them

10 Oct

I love people. They are fascinating and complex, and often times, they will surprise you. I don’t understand them though. I try and I try to view situations in different perspectives, but sometimes, people’s actions are just simply non-sensical and selfish.

I have noticed just recently that people have a flare for the dramatic. They have a knack for making assumptions that usually come with negative connotations. They are quick to the defense and often times, much too rash in their choice to not be understanding.

Look y’all.

People aren’t robots. Far from it, actually.

People aren’t always going to fit in to the mold you create for them. People are complex, life is hectic, circumstances happen, people change their minds, and life goes on.

Let’s try to be more understanding of people and situations when not everything goes the way you want it to. Life will be much more pleasant, more peaceful, and less stressful for not only yourself but for everyone around you. Throwing a fit because someone couldn’t come to your birthday party is ridiculous. Getting into a fight because someone “ditches you” or the plans you previously made is non-sensical. Getting jealous because your best friend is spending too much time with her boyfriend is selfish. Assuming someone is ignoring you because they don’t call you back is childish.

People don’t sit around in their living rooms twiddling their thumbs asking themselves what they can do to please you. They have lives. We all have lives. Sometimes, it is really hard to be a good friend, girlfriend, daughter, student, employee because of circumstances in life. It wont always be that way though, so be understanding of those times when it is.

Talk it out. Understand that there are always external attributes at play.

People. I love you, but I don’t understand you.

We’re all fighting a battle. Some of us are much stronger than others. Some of us are really struggling. So many of us go through very similar things. Let our very human qualities bring us all together, not tear us apart.

Understand yourself so you can understand others.

xoxo

TJ

 

7 Responses to “I love People, I don’t Understand Them”

  1. You have the right idea.Love will cover all other aspects.Great post.jalal

  2. taurusingemini October 10, 2013 at 5:36 am #

    That, would be exactly why i majored in psychology back in my university career, and you’re absolutely right in what you said too.

    • Taylor Devost October 11, 2013 at 5:42 am #

      Sometimes I wish I had chose to major in psychology… perhaps it would help make sense of these aliens we call people! xxxo

  3. normapadro October 10, 2013 at 6:37 am #

    Sometimes I feel this way too. I have since I was little. I just deal with things as they come. Maybe one day things will change.

    • Taylor Devost October 11, 2013 at 5:43 am #

      I am so “go with the flow,” but it doesn’t seem there are very many of us out there.. sadly. xoxo

  4. insaneblackswan October 10, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

    wow! If was as if you have put my thoughts into words!

Leave a Reply

