To Change The World All You Have To Do Is Try

7 Nov

She was never good at walking away from people that needed her. A part

of her believed that everyone, every soul, was worth saving. She always got sad

when she failed, and her mother would sit with her and softly brush her hair.

“You can’t save them all,” her mother would say with a gentle sigh.

“No, I can’t,” she sobbed.

“But, I can try,” she cried. “I must always try.”

e3a309e800f7f424d0f4e3bc8d4c1380

Here’s to the ones we can’t save.

6 Responses to “To Change The World All You Have To Do Is Try”

  1. taurusingemini November 8, 2013 at 5:49 am #

    And, it’s this need to TRY to save everybody, that will keep this narrator going, isn’t it? But sometimes, you need to know, WHEN to pull the PLUG, I’d learned that the HARD way too, because NOT everybody deserves the kindness you give to them…

  2. thespiritualrebel November 8, 2013 at 7:42 pm #

    The need to try is laudable and I love your picture it truly speaks a thousand words. Ghandi said be the change you want to see in the world, or live by example and hope others follow. You really can’t save everyone, all the time, as wonderful as it is that you’re trying if you burn yourself out you won’t be able to help anyone least of all yourself.
    Your ethics and writing voice remind me a lot of myself at your age, I too wanted to save everyone, I still do, but it doesn’t come without it’s cost. So please remember to look after yourself mentally and emotionally as well as physically because you’re important too.
    Take Care
    Lorraine x

    • Taylor Devost November 10, 2013 at 3:56 am #

      Thank you for your words! I am slowly learning how exhausting and tiresome and emotionally draining it can be. I am still learning how to balance knowing who can be saved and who must be let go. Thanks for reading and commenting. xoxo

  3. ravanez November 9, 2013 at 4:40 pm #

    Republicou isso em quod me.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Para mudar o mundo, Aquilo que você precisa fazer é tentar | quod me - November 10, 2013

    […] Republicação e Adaptação do Blog Life Scribbles: […]

  2. encante-se | quod me - December 6, 2013

    […] :Você já se encantou alguma vez com coisas simples? […]

Leave a Reply

