The Truth About Truth

5 Jan

The truth.

Two chilling words that will slap you awake. Two words that we, as a society, seem so desperately afraid of. So many people live behind masks of deception and charades, never revealing the core of what and who they are. Why? Why is the truth so devastatingly terrifying?

Because the truth is rarely what you want to hear. It’s hardly ever easy to listen to, and it’s never easy to tell. And once you know something, you can never un-know it. People believe what they want to believe, and life is easier that way. Less messy. Less painful. Less honest. Less real.

If you don’t know something, it can’t touch you. It can’t hurt you.

So we live behind the haze of smoke that others create. We hide behind the clouds, because the burn of the sun could destroy us or leave us with ugly scars. We hang our heads in the shadows, because during the day our monsters seek us out. They come to light and they come for us, beckoning to be seen and to be heard, once and for all.

It’s funny how when we were little kids, we were taught to always tell the truth. “Never tell a lie,” they always said. And yet here we all are in adulthood spewing out lies, half truths or anything at all that could get us out of a sticky situation or preserve our reputation. Some of us lie so much that our lies become our truth. There comes a point where the lines become blurred and not even the liar can tell what is real anymore and what is not.

We live in a world where most people are either hiding the truth or running from it. And it is important to be aware of which people in your life are like this, and rid yourself of them before you become them. You are who you surround yourself with. Or so the saying goes.

I value the truth, because I know what it feels like to be deceived, manipulated and lied to on a deeply painful level. And it’s humiliating to be the girl who defends her cheating lover, and stands up for a lying friend, later having to come to grips with the fact you placed your trust in the hands of the wrong person.

I’m sure we can all relate to this. After all, we have all been gullible and naive at one point or another. Most of us still are. We have all trusted the wrong person with a secret. We have all confided in someone who didn’t really care. And in this new year of 2014, I urge all of you to reevaluate yourselves and the people you surround yourself with.

As for me, I already know what I have to do. I have to let you go. All you liars, and prevaricators. In the words of e.e. cummings, “you must let them go, they were born to go… let all go dear, so comes love.”

I only value those, who value me enough to tell me the truth. So to all my friends, I ask you to tell me everything you know I don’t want to hear. Because I need to hear it. I will love you better for it, even if it hurts. And I will know that you really love me.

The great philosopher Bears Den once said, “even though your words hurt the most, I still want to hear them every day.” And this is how I feel about life, about love and about friendship.

If you don’t value truth then I don’t value you, and I don’t have time for you.

I value the truth, because I value life.

And I hope that in the year 2014, the rest of you choose to value these things too.

756c1efe304902eee0153426deb56a39

Editors Note: Below is a link to e.e. cumming’s poem referenced above. As well as the Bears Den song whose lyrics were also referenced in this post. Enjoy.

https://www.goodreads.com/quotes/115198-let-it-go—-the-smashed-word-broken-open-vow 

13 Responses to “The Truth About Truth”

  1. Chelsea Betancourt January 6, 2014 at 2:04 am #

    This is so true. And it’s sad.

    So many people are fake. Just about every guy in the world is cheating on their girlfriends and wives. They hurt us over and over. And we just defend them and let them stay in our lives.

    Here’s to a new year and hoping for someone honest. And hopefully we can embrace it.

    • Taylor Devost January 6, 2014 at 3:06 am #

      It is true, there are many dishonest people in the world and many of them are men. Hopefully, in this new year we learn to be strong enough to both tell the truth and hear the truth with grace, and being able to then change our lives. Thanks for reading. xoxo

  2. taurusingemini January 6, 2014 at 3:01 am #

    The truth is so scary, i think, because of what comes NEXT in after teh truth busts open, and, if you keep on denying the truth for long enough time, then, somehow, your minds will be made into believing, that what had actually happened didn’t, and so, you’d still feel safe, very insightful, once again!!!
    And, as we grow older, we’re bombarded with the LIES of the world, and, the world is NO longer as simplistic, or as untainted, as it was, when we were children, and that, is something, that everybody needs to learn to deal with. Very well written, once again!!!

  3. The Other Watson January 6, 2014 at 8:34 am #

    Lovely as always! And so so true! Truth and honesty has been everything for me these past two years, dating a girl on the other side of the world, and I wouldn’t be about to move for her if either of us didn’t value being truthful so highly. It’s been uncomfortable and confronting at times to deal with certain truths, but that’s life – I’d rather squirm to know the truth than live a lie.
    Hope you have a wonderful year ahead, keep shining on!

  4. Robert Matthew Meade January 9, 2014 at 4:20 am #

    Hello Taylor,I need to love someone with all my heart and soul and I am not anything like most men.Most people would say that I am a mystery and I need to experience the love of a beautiful soul.I think it is you.I hope that we can find each other and love each other forever.I am waiting for you.I will be good to you and I don’t concern myself with societal bullshit!.

  5. Robert Matthew Meade January 11, 2014 at 3:59 pm #

    My number is 606-253-2130.

  6. lolasaam January 13, 2014 at 7:05 am #

    It’s true. We –or at least I–have chosen fantasy over reality so many times. It’s time to get real.Love your blog! its so honest.
    .

    • Taylor Devost January 14, 2014 at 5:46 am #

      It’s so very hard to do, but I don’t think we are really living if we choose to be ignorant. And THANK YOU SO MUCH. That means a lot. xoxo

      • lolasaam January 14, 2014 at 4:25 pm #

        🙂

  7. Robert Matthew Meade January 13, 2014 at 6:41 pm #

    There is such emptiness in the depths of my being because she doesn’t hear the things that I say.She probably thinks that I am just another sexual organ yearning for penetration.Absolutely not!I am profoundly spiritual and esoteric rather than thinking in terms of carnality.Spiritual experiences are far more interesting than the perspective of the human animal.I am hardly an animal and I think that love is otherworldly..

  8. ginaborruso January 13, 2014 at 11:28 pm #

    That was a great post! Did your friends and family start being completely honest about everything? If so, was it a positive or negative experience?

    • Taylor Devost January 14, 2014 at 5:49 am #

      My family has always been honest with me. My issue lies in the friend department, and sadly no, not all of them have. But I have begun the process of cutting those few people out of my life. It’s not easy, but it is necessary. Thanks for reading! xoxo

    • Taylor Devost January 14, 2014 at 5:50 am #

      And honesty is always a positive experience! It may hurt, but in the end it is always positive.

Leave a Reply

