After You Left

18 Feb

After you left

I slept in your old ratty t-shirt

for 41 days.

You know the one; grey with the small holes

in the left sleeve.

It saved me that first month.

Your scent made me feel like

you were still here.

41 days.

I believed you would come back.

Day 42.

I realized the only scent left on your shirt

was my own.

4c0fcc330765430f12473240aa8d241a

4 Responses to “After You Left”

  1. panoe February 19, 2014 at 12:00 am #

    sad and beautiful. thank u for sharing what is in you. 🙂

  2. taurusingemini February 19, 2014 at 7:12 am #

    And so, i guess, that upon realizing that it is NOT the person who had left, you’d start to heal, wouldn’t you…

  3. pinkacorns May 17, 2014 at 4:39 am #

    touched my heart. this is a beaut.

Leave a Reply

