Writing Letters to Strangers: Time and Depression

25 Sep

The seconds turned to minutes, the minutes turned to hours, the hours turned to days, and days turned to weeks, weeks to months and the months to a year.

This was how Kinsey lived her life now.

A whole year had passed in the midst of her illness and she could have sworn it felt like a week or two.

Time eluded her because she had become a drone of existence in her own little world of nothingness. She lay in bed as the day passed her by, falling in and out of sleep to a sweet melody.

“With a silver arrow buried in my chest
I fell asleep in the earliness
And, had the most vivid dream
I was just a sailor and I was lost at sea
All the waves crash over me
I was lost but I was free…”

She was lost, and she was chained by it.

8f73fccf52eeca9faba1149ba9963949

3 Responses to “Writing Letters to Strangers: Time and Depression”

  1. Lucy Miller Robinson September 25, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

    It’s so easy to get lost.

  2. kkavalau October 2, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

    We’re all lost at one point or another in our lives, it takes a strong person to realize who he/she are and bring them back to mental reality.
    -thank you for sharing, definately gives me something to think about.

Leave a comment