Why We Should Give Miley A Chance

15 Oct

I have always been a fan of Miley Cyrus. Not her music per say, but her as an individual. I mean, what’s not to love? She is a cute little southern gal with awesome style and some super rad tattoos. Her interviews all seem really genuine, she seems undeniably lovable and hello, girl can sing!

Don’t believe me? Just listen to her sing Jolene by Dolly Parton.

Girl has some pipes.

Anyway, we should all give Miley a chance. Here is why. This girl grew up on Disney Channel. People told her who she was supposed to be, how she was supposed to act, and what type of music she needed to sing. Now that Disney has no control over her, she is finally finding out who she is, what she believes and what genre of music she wants to sing. She is only twenty years old. I repeat TWENTY years old. So, stop judging her, because I am pretty sure MOST of us were just as experimental and wild and free. Also, YOU don’t know HER on a personal level so stop pretending that you do!

She is finding herself. The least we can do is let her.

I wasn’t all gung-ho about her new album UNTIL I heard her 2nd single “Wrecking Ball.” That is one damn good pop song. Every time I listen to it, I get chills. It’s beautiful. THAT is what a pop song should be. Her entire album should be dedicated to anybody who has ever been truly heartbroken, because DAMN it gives me the feels.

And I know many of you “claim” that listening to anything mainstream is just “so beneath you.” Trust me, you can still be indie, hipster, underground if you like Miley Cyrus or AT LEAST give her music a good listen. Let’s be honest, most of you indie people secretly love Kanye West and Jay-Z and you can’t get more mainstream than that.

The point is, music is music, regardless of who is singing it. A good lyric is good, whether it comes from Taylor Swift or Bon Iver.

The point of music is to open your ears, your eyes, your hearts and make you feel something. Miley does that.

So give her a chance, and you may just be surprised.

Maybe You’re Right, Bangerz by Miley Cyrus.

6 Responses to “Why We Should Give Miley A Chance”

  1. W E Patterson October 15, 2013 at 5:28 pm #

    Yeah, I say give her a chance too. She’s a kid.And she has a great voice. Entertainers do a lot of stuff that the rest of us may not do, or agree with. She’s trying to build career – maybe she’s going about some things the wrong way, and maybe not. In any case, I am inclined to agree with your post.

  2. Rebecca Meyer October 18, 2013 at 4:08 am #

    Miley does have a great voice! I agree that we should give her a chance. In my opinion her current career moves may not be the greatest, but I think if she did some more songs like her cover of “Jolene” she could have true staying power in the music industry. The song shows off her voice so well.

    • Taylor Devost October 18, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

      I agree completely! Obviously, I am not partial to her VMA performance, but let’s be honest many others have done much worse. Britney, Christina, Rihanna, Madonna. I mean, come on! We shouldn’t chastise this poor girl over that performance! She is finding herself and her voice speaks for itself!!! xoxo thanks for reading

      • Rebecca Meyer October 18, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

        No problem. I agree, Miley has been getting a lot of hate from regular people and celebrities alike. People aren’t really giving her work much of a chance lately, besides the millions of YouTube views for her music videos.

  3. Sarah Bergman (@sleepygizmo) October 19, 2013 at 4:26 am #

    Ignoring the fact that she has among other horrible things, made antisemitic comments, sure…

    • Taylor Devost October 19, 2013 at 6:05 pm #

      Antisemitic? Really? Hmm. Must have missed that somehow!!

Leave a comment